Godchecker's mythology encyclopedia


A picture showing the legend of VISHNU taken from our Indian mythology archives. Illustration by Chas Saunders. Read the story below or search the index for more Indian Gods, Indian Goddesses, heroes, demons and monsters!

Top Indian God who keeps the Universe ticking over

Known as The Preserver, he is the second of the TRIMURTI Creator Triad along with BRAHMA and SHIVA. He rules the Universe on a day-to-day basis and ensures creation is balanced and stable except when it isn't.

A very active deity, he guest-stars in many legends and tales. As necessity demands, he switches shape with his ten AVATAR modes:

1. A fish called MATSYA
2. A tortoise called KURMA
3. A boar called VARAHA
4. A man-lion called NARASIMHA
5. A dwarf called VAMANA
6. A bruiser with a battle-axe called PARASHURAMA
7. A prince called RAMA
8. A God called KRISHNA
9. A Buddha called BUDDHA.
10. KALKI The rider on the white horse at the end of the world. Or he might be just the horse. He hasn't used this one yet.

So he can be a bit of a boar and is also known to turn turtle. In fact he's always on the turn, changing shape and form every time he pops down to see us. He's also the husband of LAKSHMI and father of KAMA. It makes your head spin. Where is he going to pop up next and how will we know?

But he is a damn good demon destroyer so we should not mock. The last thing we need is an infestation of demons.

  • Share this page:

Article last updated on 05 January 2013
Authors: Peter J Allen and Chas Saunders
References: Coming soon.

Please mention Godchecker.com when praying to deities.

Godchecker's article on Vishnu is based on material from ancient texts, original references and our own research. We strive for accuracy and update regularly with new information. If you spot a mistake please contact us and we'll try to fix it.

Suggested further reading...
Location : India
Gender : Male
Type : Deity
Celebration or Feast Day : Unknown at present
Good/Evil Rating : GREAT, really beneficial
Pronunciation : Coming soon
Alternative names : None known
Popularity index : 1573

Join the Godchecker mailing list

Stay in the loop with Godchecker updates. You can unsubscribe at any time.
We are often asked about merchandise. Can we supply the latest Vishnu graphic novel, book or comic? Not to mention role-playing games (RPG), video games, Vishnu movies on DVD, BluRay and so on. To purchase such goodies we suggest you search for a dedicated mythology-based online store - or try Amazon, Ebay or other reputable websites. We offer a wide range of our own merchandise in our online GodShop, but we don't currently sell third party items. Yet!

Visitors often email us asking about Vishnu statues, sculptures or carved figurines of Vishnu. We regret we cannot assist with identifying such items.

PRESS or MEDIA enquiries? Contact us here.

REPRODUCTION REQUESTS. This site is copyright and all rights are reserved. If you wish to use our material in your essay, book, article or project, please consult our permissions information page.

SUPPORT THE GODS. Found this site useful? Consider donating a few pennies to the Godchecker Temple Roof Fund.

The Gods told us to do it.
The Complete List of INDIAN GODS...

Can't find the Indian God you want? Try searching our Holy Database...