The Classical Gods of Ancient Greece


Share this page with other mortals!



Greek Gods and Goddesses

Also known as TITANES

Primordial race of giant deities

The twelve giant offspring of GAIA and URANUS, they come in brother-sister pairs: CRONUS and RHEA, OCEANUS and TETHYS, HYPERION and THEA, COEUS and PHOEBE — all happily married to each other — plus the singletons IAPETUS, THEMIS, CRIUS and MNEMOSYNE who prefer to keep their options open. (The six sisters are also called the TITANIDES, by the way.)

They were so big and painful in labor that poor GAIA couldn’t bear to bear any more. So she got CRONUS to help with some radical birth control and newly neutered URANUS was overthrown.

After the deed was done, CRONUS and RHEA ruled over the Gods and the world entered a Golden Age of peace and prosperity. A second generation of TITANS was born — GAIA’s grandchildren: HELIOS, EOS, SELENE, ASTERIA, LETO, LELANTUS, ATLAS, PROMETHEUS, EPIMETHEUS, MENOETIUS, METIS, ASTRAEUS, PALLAS, PERSES.

Of course this Golden Age of bliss didn’t last. The following generation of deities — the Olympian Gods — warred against them and a disgruntled ZEUS banished them all to Tartarus Prison.


Pronunciation : Coming soon
Alternative names : TITANES
Location : Ancient Greece
Gender : Both male and female
Type : deity

In charge of : Unknown at present
God of :

Father: URANUS
Mother: GAIA
Member of: TITANS

Celebration or Feast Day : Unknown at present
Good/Evil Rating : NEUTRAL, may not care
Popularity index : 92032

Cite this article

Here's the info you need to cite this page. Just copy the text in the box below.


Article last updated on 27 August 2015 by the Godchecker Team.
Editors: Peter J Allen, Chas Saunders

References: Coming soon.

Permissions page

The Gods told us to do it. Go to top

Introduction to the Greek section

Browse our entries on Greek mythology

Search the Holy Database of All Known Gods

List of deity names from Greek mythology