Chinese Mythology

The Folk Gods and Spirits of the Middle Kingdom


Chinese fabulous creature

Also known as Four Auspicious Animals, Four Symbols, Si-Ling, Ssu-Ling, Su-Ling

The Four Blessed Animals of Chinese Mythology.

They are Fenghuang: the Phoenix, Gui Xian: the Tortoise, Long: the Dragon, and Qilin: the Unicorn.

Each beast has its own domain and associated creatures, but together they oversee the state of the nation and protect China’s prospects. The original Gang Of Four.

Sì Xiàng Facts and Figures

Name: Sì Xiàng
Pronunciation: Sur Leeng
Alternative names: Four Auspicious Animals, Four Symbols, Si-Ling, Ssu-Ling, Su-Ling

Gender: Sorry, we don't know
Type: fabulous creature
Celebration or Feast Day: Unknown at present

Role: Unknown at present

Good/Evil Rating: NEUTRAL, may not care
Popularity index: 5319

Copy this link to share with anyone:

Share this page on social media:

Link to this page:

HTML: To link to this page, just copy and paste the link below into your blog, web page or email.

BBCODE: To link to this page in a forum post or comment box, just copy and paste the link code below:

Cite this article

Here's the info you need to cite this page. Just copy the text in the box below.

Article last revised on May 16, 2019 by the Godchecker data dwarves.
Editors: Peter J. Allen, Chas Saunders

References: Coming soon.

Permissions page

Oh woe. Javascript is switched off in your browser.
Some bits of this website may not work unless you switch it on.