Buddhist Mythology

The Gods and Bodhisvattas of Enlightenment...


Buddhist Wisdom Gods

Also known as Dhyanibuddhas, Five Celestial Buddhas, Five Wisdom Buddhas

Five deeply pondering Buddhas

They are the Famous Five Buddhas of Mystical Meditation who live high above the universe and spend their time contemplating it all.

Their names are Akshobhya, Amitabha, Amoghasiddhi, Ratnasambhava and Vairocana.

The Dhyani Buddhas are frequently featured in a Mandala with Vairocana at the center. If you wish to participate in their meditations that is probably a good place to start.

Dhyani Buddhas Facts and Figures

Name: Dhyani Buddhas
Pronunciation: Coming soon
Alternative names: Dhyanibuddhas, Five Celestial Buddhas, Five Wisdom Buddhas

Gender: Male
Type: Gods
Celebration or Feast Day: Unknown at present

In charge of: Wisdom
Area of expertise: Wisdom

Good/Evil Rating: NEUTRAL, may not care
Popularity index: 3060

Copy this link to share with anyone:

Share this page on social media:

Link to this page:

HTML: To link to this page, just copy and paste the link below into your blog, web page or email.

BBCODE: To link to this page in a forum post or comment box, just copy and paste the link code below:

Cite this article

Here's the info you need to cite this page. Just copy the text in the box below.

Article last revised on September 20, 2018 by Rowan Allen.
Editors: Peter J. Allen, Chas Saunders

References: Coming soon.

Permissions page

Oh woe. Javascript is switched off in your browser.
Some bits of this website may not work unless you switch it on.