Hindu Mythology

The colorful deities and demons of India...


Hindu concept

Also known as Five Ms, Mmmmm, Pañca-Makâras, Pañcatattvas

The Five Naughty Yummy Things

Naughtiness time. We present the Five Forbidden Things of Asceticism for Hindus. These all begin with M and so are called the Five Ms.

They are all dangerously enjoyable and will lead you astray from the hard truths of religious misery into great orgies of self-gratified pleasure. Avoid them like the plague to remain pure, clean and spiritually superior.

On the other hand, followers of the ‘left-handed path’ of Tantrism believe that indulgence in worldly pleasures gives you serious spiritual benefits. The Five Ms are what they recommend guzzling during rituals. Here is the list, but don’t try them all at once:

Mâmsa: Flesh.
Matsya: Fish.
Madya: Wine.
Maithuna: Sex.
Mudra: Parched grain. Yes, grain.

Whether you abstain or devour, the Five Ms are the pinnacle of human pleasures. That’s probably why they’re collectively known as Mmmmm!

Pañcamakâras Facts and Figures

Name: Pañcamakâras
Pronunciation: Coming soon
Alternative names: Five Ms, Mmmmm, Pañca-Makâras, Pañcatattvas

Gender: Sorry, we don't know
Type: concept
Celebration or Feast Day: Unknown at present

Role: Unknown at present

Good/Evil Rating: NEUTRAL, may not care
Popularity index: 4533

Copy this link to share with anyone:

Share this page on social media:

Link to this page:

HTML: To link to this page, just copy and paste the link below into your blog, web page or email.

BBCODE: To link to this page in a forum post or comment box, just copy and paste the link code below:

Cite this article

Here's the info you need to cite this page. Just copy the text in the box below.

Article last revised on May 16, 2019 by Rowan Allen.
Editors: Peter J. Allen, Chas Saunders

References: Coming soon.

Permissions page

Oh woe. Javascript is switched off in your browser.
Some bits of this website may not work unless you switch it on.