Hindu Mythology

The colorful deities and demons of India...


Hindu Wisdom Gods

Also known as Sapta-Rishis

The Seven Super Special Sages

These are seven extra-special Rishis — divinely-inspired writers of spiritual truths.

Members of this exclusive group include Daksha and Gautama, but membership varies depending on which set of trillion billion gazillion eons you are living in. Unfortunately, we have lost count.

However we can give you a sample cast list. In order of sageness we have Atri, Angiras, Bhrigu, Kratu, Pulaha, Pulastya and Vasishtha.

The Saptarishis take pride of place in the night sky as the Big Dipper in Ursa Major, which in Hinduism is known simply as Saptarishi — ‘The Seven Sages’.

Saptarishis Facts and Figures

Name: Saptarishis
Pronunciation: Coming soon
Alternative names: Sapta-Rishis

Gender: Male
Type: Gods
Celebration or Feast Day: Unknown at present

In charge of: Wisdom
Area of expertise: Wisdom
Associated with: Ursa Major (Big Dipper)

Good/Evil Rating: NEUTRAL, may not care
Popularity index: 4005

Copy this link to share with anyone:

Share this page on social media:

Link to this page:

HTML: To link to this page, just copy and paste the link below into your blog, web page or email.

BBCODE: To link to this page in a forum post or comment box, just copy and paste the link code below:

Cite this article

Here's the info you need to cite this page. Just copy the text in the box below.

Article last revised on September 18, 2018 by Rowan Allen.
Editors: Peter J. Allen, Chas Saunders

References: Coming soon.

Permissions page

Oh woe. Javascript is switched off in your browser.
Some bits of this website may not work unless you switch it on.